New Deck (this time for reals!): Rune Cards

Standard

I have been neglecting my tarot practice these past weeks, and I want to get back into it. So I’m once again picking a new deck, even though I haven’t done much with the World Spirit Tarot.

These are the random number-generated suggestions:

Looks like I’m supposed to go for an oracle, no matter what! And since I decided against the Rune Cards last week, I’m picking them for this week. So far, I have very little clue about and no experience at all with runes. I bought the cards hoping the images would make it easier for me to learn their shapes, names, and basic concepts (plus, they’re beautiful).

When the deck initially came to me, one card was there twice (Water/Lagu), and another one was missing (Riding/Rad). But I immediately got a copy of the missing card from the deck’s publisher after I wrote to them, so that’s taken care of.

I do know that the cards depict the 29 Anglo-Saxon or Futhorc runes, which have five more runes and slightly different names than the more commonly used Elder Futhark set. The deck also has an extra card called “wyrd” to signify a blank rune, but I won’t use that one (from what I read, it has been an invention of a modern author of a rune book).

I’ve also already collected a few links about the Anglo-Saxon runes in general which I’ll now go and add to the Decks & Resources page.

And now I’m really curious about my first draw!

2 responses »

  1. The Linsell and Partridge Rune Deck is a beauty, and the LWB is better than most. Look forward to your take on this one!

  2. Indeed. When I skimmed through the LWB yesterday evening, I was surprised at how much information about the runes they creators managed to get into it. I also agree on the beauty of the cards – I really like the black and white semi-realistic illustrations.

Leave a Comment

