How to practice “Everyday Spirituality” (a reading)

Standard

I just got a tarot reading by one of my fellow “Deck of the Week” people that made me aware that a part of me is waiting for some sort of huge spiritual revelation or other big spiritual event. Not that I’d have a clear idea how such an event is even supposed to look, but I’m still vaguely waiting for it.

In part, this turns away my focus from spirituality in my everyday life and reserves it for “special occasions.” I actually don’t have any spiritual habits (for several months, I drummed a daily morning song, but even that has been neglected recently). And I find it hard to develop any because everything feels so play-acted, artificial, and fake to me.

I suspect several reasons for that. I didn’t grow up with any kind of spirituality or religion, so I don’t have any familiar spiritual habits to fall back on, tweak until they fit me, or energetically do the exact opposite of. My current path doesn’t relate to any specific tradition, so just adapting a whole new set of beliefs and practices (like, for example, Wicca, or Judaism, or Celtic Reconstructionist Paganism) also doesn’t work for me, not even as a starting point.

Since the question of everyday spirituality has come up for me before, I decided to do a follow-up reading on it. I definitely wouldn’t have picked the Deviant Moon for this question, but since it’s the Deck of the Week, I’ll go with it and see where that takes us.

Question: How can I develop more of an “everyday spirituality” in my current life?

1. Something to think about/reflect on6 Swords

This makes me grin: a person sits in a gondola-like vehicle, floating in space. From her head grows a huge, blue balloon with golden ornaments on it. Down on the ground is a burning house, a body of water, and some land with a few trees on the other side.

With that kind of head, thinking should come rather easily! So apparently I need to make extra room in my head if my regular-sized nugget doesn’t suffice. Since the scene is very dream-like, it may simply tell me to get more sleep, possibly so I can have more dreams, which I then might remember better and which I could then interpret more consciously.

Or it could tell me that I need to find a time and place inbetween things for daily reflections about spirituality (and whatever else seems to be relevant beyond everyday issues). This bit rings more true to me, since it reminds me how I used to be on trains regularly for at least an hour several times a week and how I loved to use that transitionary state for journaling. That kind of time is difficult to find when the way to work is as short as it is these days for me! So I need to think about a place and time that leaves the “burning houses” of mundane hassles behind before I land again on the other side.

Ha, and of course it could literally mean I need to think more about what keeps me from doing more shamanic journeys!

The balloon ornament that sticks out most is a skull with wings. I take this to mean that it might do me good to think more about death in my everyday life. Not death as something that’s frightening, but as something that reminds me what’s really important in life (this also ties in perfectly with the reading I mentioned above, in which death also appeared as an important issue for me). And that’s what death does for me, again and again, almost every time when I encounter it. So I have oddly friendly feelings towards death a lot of the time, because it always also carries a message about living life as long as it lasts.

I could go on about my thoughts and feelings about death, but I believe that would get me off topic here. Maybe another day (and maybe not even in public).

2. Something to practically doThe World

Inside an ouroboros is a mermaid who holds two sticks that are burning on both ends. She is placed between the sea and a city. In front of her are two lionesque creatures with parts of other animals, and above the whole scene are two fish with human faces jumping up to meet each other in the middle.

Again, there is an inbetween place, which is further emphasized by the half-human/half-fish mermaid, the half-fish/half-human “fishes” above, and the four-legged creatures that feature body parts from different animals. We are clearly talking about being both and being neither, being on the edge between here and there – all of which are very familiar states of being to me.

But what does that mean in practice? Maybe I need to cultivate my own inbetween-ness more instead of trying to hide it for fear of being excluded. After all, I consider this area of liminality the most permanent “home” I’ve ever had, and also think of it vaguely as a spiritual role I’m supposed to embody more consciously.

Maybe I also need to leave my comfort zone (as the fish come out of the water) to get more in touch with my spirituality in my everyday life?

And then it could simply remind me to dance – even if this particular World isn’t much of a dancer. But still, she reminds me of a bellydancer from the way she wears her fishtail on her hips…

3. Something else that’s missing6 of Pentacles

A person in red and black with five hands holding coins sticking out of her back is standing above someone else in green who is reaching up, trying to get at the one coin that’s being offered.

On first sight, this person seems to keep most for herself and give only a fraction (a sixth, to be precise) of what she has. Which sounds egocentric at first, but on second sight it actually seems very sensible – and generous at that!

It seems I’m supposed to give something of value as part of my everyday spiritual practice. Most literally, it could mean giving something to everyone I see begging (assuming I have some change with me), without judging them on how “deserving” I believe them to be. Might be worth a try!

It could also mean giving time (which I value even more than money). The coins even remind me of clock faces, possibly because the hands holding them look like machine parts. I do give time already in my weekly volunteer work, but I could definitely think about other ways to give time as a spiritual service.

And then there’s the easiest answer of them all: I could simply dedicate more time to spiritual practice outside of special occasions (and I’m not counting time on the internet that is consume-only). Duh!

———————

I’m surprised. This has been quite insightful, lots of food for further contemplation, even though I didn’t make any decisions about the possibilities that have appeared, yet. I didn’t think the Deviant Moon had it in it! I’m definitely liking it much better than I did yesterday.

Leave a Comment

