New deck: Waking the Wild Spirit Tarot

Standard

I’ve decided to change to my next deck a bit early since I don’t think I’ll get anything else out of the Deviant Moon today after that huge analysis.

The random number generator gives me a choice between:

Wow, that’s a tough choice! I’ve read with all of these decks before, but not often. All of them seem like good candidates for further use. I think I’ll go with the one that I found most difficult to read so far: Waking the Wild Spirit Tarot.

As before, here are some initial impressions:

This deck originally comes with borders in garish colors that distract hugely from the card images, and two sets of titles (above and below the image, respectively). I immediately wanted to trim the deck when I got it. Since the cards don’t follow any tarot tradition in their imagery, however, I hesitated about cutting off both titles at once. When I learned that Poppy Palin didn’t mean to create a tarot deck but was persuaded by her publisher to turn her deck into one, I decided to trim away the upper titles because they also had the tarot numbering. That pretty much made the cards unidentifiable for me, since the three sheets of mini-descriptions that came with the deck give only the upper titles. I suppose this is one reason why I never got into using the deck. I may still eventually trim off the lower title and border as well, since those don’t add much to the cards anyway. At any rate, I will use the deck as an oracle (with a few tarot influences) in the coming week. I mostly read individual card imagery over assigned meanings across decks, so I should be fine with that.

What bugs me most about the deck are the frequent 1980s hairstyles (hair in general isn’t what Palin draws best). While many of the cards are drawn in a beautifully realistic style, there are some with human anatomy that makes me cringe because it’s so unintentionally off. The right arm of the Spirit Guide/Interpreter/Hierophant is just one example, the left hand of the red-haired person in the Blood Bond/Four of Water is another. I’m also pretty sure that no actual horse has muscles even remotely like the one in the Wild Power/Natural Force/Strength does.

What I like best about Waking the Wild Spirit, is the range and intensity of colors. I love that there are a lot of animals in the deck, and that all of them (except unicorns) can be found in Europe (wolves and bears don’t exactly live round the corner from me, but they do exist). I like the magic-realist style of the images where humans, animals, and various kinds of fairies/sprites co-exist. I also like that most scenes take place outside in nature.

I don’t have the companion book for the deck, but I’ve just re-read two reviews of it that make it sound rather awful. Judging from Poppy Palin’s website, she does seem to be on a mission indeed, and I don’t react well to her style. I’ll include the quasi-LWB (little white book) she has sent with the cards when I bought them from her (there are scans of the three pages at the very bottom of her webpage) in my readings to see if it works for me.

Okay, I think we’re ready for the first reading!

ETA: I think I will choose the least stinky deck next week – this is another one with a rather chemical smell…)

Leave a Comment

