Revisiting the Waking the Wild Spirit new deck interview

Standard

Once again, my week with a deck is over and I feel it might make sense to look back on the New Deck Interview I did with it.

These are the cards and positions I drew.

What do I need to learn from you during this week? – Strong Spirit / Lord of the Wild (Emperor) 

I did reconnect a little bit with little bits of my shamanic practice and had lots of “special animals” appear in my path, so that was nice. It could also be a matter of season, though, so I’m not putting too much weight onto this. And gender hasn’t been on my mind more than it generally is, so no new insights on that front, either. Honestly, even looking back I still don’t know what this card is supposed to mean to me.

How can I learn best from you?Magical Spirit / Cunning Man (Magician)

I did neither light a candle nor did I take the deck anywhere. We did have beautiful weather here, though, so I enjoyed some nice moments of sunny (and chilly) fall days. Just like the card above, I’m not sure what to make of this, even in hindsight.

Our future relationship? – The Gypsy / Knight of Fire

As I initially suspected, I will definitely pass on the spare copy of this deck, and maybe this one, too (if anyone wants it).

It’s strange, the Waking the Wild Spirit deck should suit me in so many ways, with its emphasis on nature and familiar plants/animals, but it remained slightly off for me the entire week. I’m not quite sure why that is. It could be the fairies with the pointed heads, it could be the weird “Riverdance” poses in some of the cards, it could be the hairstyles. Or maybe this deck and I just don’t click like I hoped we would when I first got it.

There are four cards in this deck I really, really love (clockwise from top left):

  • Dream Weaver / Wisewoman (High Priestess)
  • Full Bloom / Nine of Earth*
  • Wildwitch / Queen of Fire
  • Wise Counsellor / Healer (Hermit)*

* I wrote more about these two cards when I did my “Balance the Moment” exercise.

The rest of them, however, are far from that. So maybe the question is: Do four great cards justify keeping an otherwise “meh” deck? Or should I just make copies of these four images to look at them when I want and give the deck to someone who’ll love many more of the cards?

Right now, I’m leaning towards the latter…

One response »

  1. Wow, love that Wildwitch card with the owl!! But I got a feeling it is not a deck that would suit me either. And you just killed that deck with the riverdance remark lol! I see it a bit on that Magician now :-p
    Looking forward to read about next weeks deck adventures.

Leave a Comment

