Three Reasons to keep the Quantum Tarot

Standard

Today is my last (half) day with the Quantum Tarot. It has been another busy week, and I’m a little bit sorry that I didn’t get to do a single reading for anyone else with the deck. I suppose one of the reasons why I didn’t make room for even a small reading exchange was my rather uninterested feeling about the Quantum. I neither liked nor disliked it enough to spark any kind of passion for it. So I decided to give it a chance to convince me of keeping it by asking for three reasons why I should do so (no positional meanings).

High Priestess

Yes, you do have some truly great colors. Love the theater curtain effect and the look into (mostly) empty space it creates in this card. Makes me think of passing through that curtain to see what’s on the other side (interesting question: am I audience or actor here?). I take it to mean that there’s more to this deck than I can see right now, and that delving further into its depths might be worth it.

Queen of Cups

Oh, you are a cheeky one! Provoking me by throwing out the card I said I liked least… Well, that is a strategy to make me interested. Looking for what I dislike most often offers very valuable insights. I get your point here, Quantum Tarot.

Seven of Pentacles

No, no, no. This is not how it works, dear Quantum Tarot. I can’t even read this card. Unless you mean you’d serve well as an example of computer art that doesn’t quite work, no matter how many fancy colors, metallic effects, and difficult angles the artist has used? Maybe the companion booklet will offer something worthwhile?

There are six types of quark, and they come in three pairs; up and down, charm and strange, top and bottom. […] The name “quark” is a nonsense word quoted from James Joyce’s Finnegan’s Wake: “Three quarks for Muster Mark!” The two heaviest quarks, top and bottom, were originally named truth and beauty, but this was thought too poetic for physics!

Okay, this is good stuff. I like that something in the natural sciences has been named “charm” and “strange,” and I could entertain myself for a while by pondering how these two are opposites (if in fact they are!). I also enjoy the reference to literature. The companion booklet is indeed a really good one, with lots of starting point for further research into new physics and exploration of related ideas.

We have gathered a lot of stuff, probably more than we’ll ever need. The 7 of Pentacles is not about questioning this surplus but appreciating it. […] What resources have you amassed?

Are you telling me I should keep you as a collectible? That every tarot library needs some books that aren’t read much? Speaking of libraries, you do work exceptionally well as a bookend for other tarot decks (which isn’t very relevant any more, now that I put my decks into two drawers — but you never know when I’ll rearrange things again).

I’ll add an extra reason of my own: the silver edges. Even though they are too much on a migraine day, they are really pretty.

Well. This has been an interesting exercise. Now I just need to make up my mind about whether these reasons outweigh the reasons for not keeping the Quantum Tarot…

Leave a Comment

