New Deck: Tarot of Metamorphosis

Standard

These are the suggestions for next week’s deck, as always determined by using a random number generator:

After the first two I wondered if this would be a choice between three Lo Scarabeo decks… I quickly ruled out the Druid Plant Oracle because I feel like using a tarot this week. I’m a little more familiar with the Fey Tarot, so I picked the Tarot of Metamorphosis to use. That seems to fit well with the ongoing period of change I’m in.

First impressions:

There are quite a few art (René Magritte, Salvador Dalí, Hieronymus Bosch), myth (the Minotaur, Icarus, Narcissus, Sisyphus, King Midas, the Golem), and literature (Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland, Franz Kafka’s The Metamorphosis, Bram Stoker’s Dracula, Pinocchio, Oscar Wilde’s The Picture of Dorian Gray) references I recognize. I’m sure there are a lot more. After looking at the LWB I now know that there is a Greek/Roman myth for each Cups card and a book/art reference for all Swords cards. The LWB also offers a small reading list which could be fodder for at least a month. As small as it is, the LWB seems to offer some very interesting starting points for interpretations.

The color range is a bit too much on the pastel and blue/violet/green side of things for my taste, but I generally like the art styles used in the deck.

All in all it seems like a deck that could inspire some interesting explorations into art, myth, and literature on the theme of transformation/metamorphosis. I’m sure it can be approached in a rather cerebral way to be more of a study. I’m equally sure it can be read completely intuitively by just looking at the pictures. I’m curious to find out how my own balance between the two will look like at the end of the week.

Finally, I’m convinced this deck could inspire creative works itself. Some of the scenes really call for making up the story around them!

3 responses »

  1. I never really paid attention to this deck, but I confess your description of it made me VERY curious! :-) I’ll look for more information about it! I like decks that stimulate the creativity.

    I hope you’ll use the Tarot of Metamorphosis for readings here? I am curious on how it reads!

  2. Marina, I’m definitely going to read with the deck here this week. I’m also very curious!
    I used it before once or twice for strictly intuitive readings and remember liking it. I don’t even know why I haven’t used the deck more already. I probably was too busy with all my long-term one-deck-only projects last/this year (done mostly with the Greenwood and the Ironwing)…

    I have a feeling it may be one of those decks that are sadly underestimated because the concept is just too off of traditional RWS/Thoth meanings/illustrations and therefore not so easily accessible as a tarot deck in the narrower sense of the word.

Leave a Comment

