New Deck: Songs for the Journey Home Tarot

Standard

Since I extended last week a little, I decided to pick my new deck a bit early, too. So, random number generator, what do you have for me this week?

I already spent some exclusive time with the Phantasmagoric Theater Tarot a while ago, so that one’s out for now. The same goes for the Tarot of the Four Elements, whose intense colors also don’t seem such a great idea on a migraine day as today. That leaves the Songs for the Journey Home Tarot, which is fine with me.

I got the deck from a friend on AT, but haven only used it a couple of times so far. I really like the deck’s name, because I’m still looking for a place to call home without reservations. So having a handful of songs for the journey towards whereever home may ed up being sounds like a good thing to me. As does having a handful of songs in the first place because my life has been strangely devoid of music for several years now. I rarely listen to any music when I’m home because it distracts me from the things I do (mostly reading and sometimes writing), and I can’t sit still for even a song’s length and do nothing but listen to music. That used to be very different earlier in my life, and I couldn’t even say what caused this change. I can say that I miss music and dancing, though. Maybe I’ll ask this deck about this issue…

Songs for the Journey Home is my first and so far only round tarot deck. It’s a bit harder to shuffle than other decks, but that’s mostly due to its diameter which is at the limit of what my hands can comfortably handle (I usually shuffle my decks lengthwise, even the small ones). That slows down the shuffling process a bit, but that’s probably not a bad thing.

I’m not quite up to do a reading today, though, because I still have a headache (despite my migraine medication), so that’s for another day…

2 responses »

  1. Funny what you said about music. It’s the same with me. I hardly listen to music anymore at home. I think it is probably my job as I’m always around people and it’s always loud and when I’m at home I just want some “peace and quiet”. :) And now that I’m on maternity leave, my son took over the noisy part and the only music I listen to right now is “The greatest hits from Sesame Street” and stuff like that. *lol*
    Sorry to hear you get migraines, too. Hate them!

  2. Yes, I really came to appreciate the absence of other people and (relative) silence around me by now. Maybe it’s related to approaching 40… ;-)

    I don’t have kids myself but I know how noisy they can be and how annoying their musical choices eventually become. Hope your son moves on to music you like better soon!

Leave a Comment

