New Deck: Morgan’s Tarot

Standard

I realize I haven’t posted a single reading with the Ancient Italian Tarot on this blog (I only read for others and lack their permission to post here), even though I extended my time with it to two weeks. But it’s still time for a new deck. The random number generatot suggests these:

Another very easy choice: Morgan’s Tarot it is. The other two seem study-intensive, with a focus on something I don’t feel like studying right now. Besides, I’ve wanted to use this deck forever, but never got around to it before. By the way, it’s not a tarot, despite its name, but an 88-card oracle without any apparent structure.

Before I got a copy of the re-issued (and, sadly, partly re-drawn deck), I often ended my day with a single-card draw from the virtual Morgan’s Tarot. I won’t pretend that I always understood the message but I always loved the artwork. For a long time it seemed the deck would be way too hard to get anyway, seeing that it was out of print and all. But in 2009, U.S. Games decided to reprint it. At first, I was disappointed with the new version because it seemed too clean for me. All the writing had been redone, and I wasn’t sure I liked it.

I’m still not sure, but I nevertheless got the deck eventually.

I’m thinking that using it may be a little like using the Discordian Deck, but with more drug references and less of a system behind it. The back design already makes me remember the art I admired (and partly created) during my first years of smoking cannabis products myself. I don’t do that anymore, but I still fondly remember those times. And I sorely miss the creativity that came with them. But that’s another story for another day.

Leave a Comment

