New Deck: Wheel of Change Tarot

Standard

Okay, I have to confess that I didn’t even try to read with the Shaman’s Oracle this week. Since I only picked the deck on Monday and then went on to have a very busy week I probably shouldn’t be surprised…
Normally, I’d just wait for the weekend to catch up, but this isn’t possible this week since I’ll go away for an all-weekend class tomorrow. Unfortunately, the Shaman’s Oracle really doesn’t feel like the right deck to accompany me. One of the reasons is that it definitely doesn’t strike me as an all-purpose deck.

So I decided to put it back on the list for a later chance (sorry to everyone who was hoping to see the deck in action this week!) and pick a new deck for the weekend and next week (where I’ll be away from home again) tonight. These are my random number-generated suggestions:

Strangely enough, these three decks were on my alphabetical deck list right next to each other (I listed them here in the order they were suggested).

Hm… Wheel of Change Tarot it is.

I used the deck a few times so far and found it nicely readable. I like the artwork,although it looks rather busy at first. But with a little bit of focus on each card, that busyness becomes images with a lot of details to discover. I still debate if I like the way different races/ethnicities/cultures are depicted. My first impression is a good one, but sometimes a closer and more critical look brings up issues that didn’t jump at me at first glance (which I attribute mostly to being in a position of privilege in terms of race/ethnicity, which often acts as a default blinder unless it’s consciously reflected)…

Since the companion book is massive, I’m definitely not taking it with me on my travels. It does have some interesting background explanations of what we see on the cards, but I don’t particularly enjoy the preachy tone of “this is how you should live your life, these are the issues you should care about, this is the utopia you should dream of and strive for.” Not even in those places where I agree with the creator.

All in all, I’m looking forward to exploring the deck some more, and hopefully also a bit more in-depth.

(By the way, this weekend-class also means it will be Monday before I am realistically able to sit down to write something that requires more than a flicker of thought. Which means, the next installment of the Pagan Blog Project will happen then.)

One response »

  1. The Wheel of Change is one of my favourite decks, and one of my first. I like the effort she put into it–ten years of effort and hand drawn art. I have seen a few people mention her preachy tone or environmental agenda–it never bothered me because she has such a fresh way of looking at things. Compared to much of the junk that’s published today with its mish-mash of bad collage and canned meanings, I appreciate the thoughtful work in the Wheel of Change.

    I change my decks up all the time–go with what you feel like working with!

Leave a Comment

